Website Manager


William Riffel Award

William Riffel Award

Awarded to that team member in good academic standing who, by his own example, has constituted an inspiration to his teammates and made the greatest contribution to the team in the season’s play.

Coach Riffel coached Grand Island lacrosse from 1982 – 2003. He was the pioneer of the program and the man who led it to prominence. Through his guidance, the Vikings won six sectional championships, one WNY tournament championship, and sent many players on to successful college careers. Coach attained success through teaching his players respect, hard work, dedication, commitment, and sportsmanship. 

2023 Recipient

2022 Recipient
Jason Hill

2021 Recipient
Griffin Miller

2020 Recipient
*no season*

2019 Recipient
Trevor Samplinski

2018 Recipient
Thomas Cecere

2010 Recipient
Andrew LaLonde

2009 Recipient
Joe Fischer

2008 Recipient
Alex Hultgren
2007 Recipient
James Rayhill
2006 Recipient
Phil Wendt

2005 Recipient
Adam Ungaro

2004 Recipient
Mike Blocho
Copyright © 2024 Grand Island Youth Lacrosse
Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In